Ellie Simmonds Named in Britain's Para-Swimming European Championship Squad

Ellie Simmonds is one of five Rio Paralympic champions to be named in a 24-strong British squad for the 2018 Para-Swimming European Championships in Dublin.

Simmonds has been selected alongside Bethany Firth, Ollie Hynd, Ellie Robinson and Hannah Russell (pictured below) to compete in Dublin's National Aquatic Centre from August 13-19.

Hannah Russell British Swimming

They will be joined by eight swimmers making their British senior debuts in a squad capable of taking on the world's best, according to British Para-Swimming Head Coach Rob Aubry.

Aubry was encouraged by the level of performances he saw at this weekend's British Para-Swimming International Meet in Sheffield, where more than 20 podium places were occupied by Brits.

On announcing this morning's squad, he said: "It has shown us that we have many great para-swimmers in this country who can hold their own against, and beat, some of the world’s best.

"We set competitive selection times deliberately to bring out the best in our swimmers and test what they can do in the pressure of the arena, and many rose to that challenge.

"The Europeans will be a challenging meet but I’m certain we have selected the right swimmers for the job. I’m delighted that eight swimmers will be making their debut for the British senior team."

However, there is no place for Matt Wylie, who won S9 50m freestyle gold at Rio 2016 and the 2016 European Championships, but has since had his classification changed to S10 by the International Paralympic Committee.

Great Britain squad for the Dublin 2018 Para-Swimming European Championships

Jessica-Jane Applegate (UEA Norwich)
Jordan Catchpole (UEA Norwich)
Stephen Clegg (City of Sunderland ASC)
Louise Fiddes (Hatfield)
Bethany Firth (ARDS SC)
Grace Harvey (National Performance Centre Manchester)
Tom Hamer (National Performance Centre Manchester)
Ollie Hynd (Nova Centurion)
Mikey Jones (National Performance Centre Manchester)
Tully Kearney (COMAST)
Jacob Leach (Cockermouth SC)
Conner Morrison (University of Aberdeen Performance)
Andrew Mullen (City of Glasgow)
Zara Mullooly (Guildford City Swimming Club)
Scott Quin (Warrender Baths Club)
Rebecca Redfern (Worcester Swimming Club)
Megan Richter (Orion)
Ellie Robinson (Northampton SC)
Hannah Russell (COMAST/ National Performance Centre Manchester)
Toni Shaw (University of Aberdeen Performance)
Ellie Simmonds (Camden Swiss Cottage SC)
Maisie Summers-Newton (Northampton SC)
Alice Tai (National Performance Centre Manchester)
Lewis White (City of Derby)


© 2018 ProSwimwear Ltd. All Rights Reserved.